FAQ #: 5
Error 9300 - File is in use by another user; Error 9302 - Record Busy


These errors mean that the record you are trying to use, or the file you are trying to update is currently "locked" and being used by another user.

Record locks occur when one user is trying to open the same inventory item, customer, vendor, sales order, etc that another user is currently editing or maintenancing. Two people cannot have the same item open in Inventory Maintenance. If one user is maintenancing a customer, another user cannot post cash receipts for that customer. These situations result in a "record lock". With most record locks, Answers gives you the user name who is currently locking the record, the date, time, and terminal number, along with an option to send that user a message letting them know you need them to finish and are waiting. Once the user leaves the record, you will be able to access it and continue on.

File locks occur when you are trying to run an update or a purge program that requires all users to be out of the file. When you try to update the Cash Receipts Journals, other users must be out of the Cash Posting program (or at least out of the Cash Posting in your same warehouse). The same is true for stock receipts. One user cannot update the journal while others are still posting. Purges require all users to be logged out of the system.

In a lot of cases, as mentioned above, Answers will notify you of the user and terminal who has the file or record open. Answers may also give you the option of sending that user a message to let them know you are waiting on them to finish up and exit. If you don't receive a message, or a user does not respond, or the file or record continues to be locked, then you should check each user's PC and remote desktop session (in the case of branch users) to see who has the file open. On the System Management menu, the Answers Activity/Status Display can help because it will show users logged on and what program(s) they are in. You can also use the Send A Message option to broadcase a message to all users asking them to log out.