Tip of the Month for:
March 2015
Patience is of "Key Importance" when Running Purges
Our call history indicates that more and more users are cancelling, aborting,
stopping, or otherwise interrupting purge programs that are running. Doing so
is almost always going to cause of loss of data and effort on the part of the
user and Data Resources both to get the data restored to where nothing of
importance is lost. To try to alleviate the aggravation of cancelling purge
programs is causing we want to publicize some key facts about how purges work in
general and to assure users that purges are usually running fine, even if they
are taking longer than expected or than they did in the past.
-
Cancelling out of a purge program with Ctrl+Alt+Delete,
Task Manager, shutting down, logging off or by any means, will almost
certainly cause you to lose data in the area that you are purging.
-
It is extremely rare that a purge program is truly "hung"
or stopped. Even if Windows complains the program is "Not Responding", more
than likely the program is
still running, but just very busy reading and writing data out to
disk and is just too busy to respond to Windows quick enough to where
Windows gets "impatient" and shows that message prematurely. The Not
Responding" message should not be
taken literally and should all but be ignored during intensive purge
programs. This is a function of how the AcuCobol Runtime
and Windows inter-communicate and is unfortunately out of the control of
Data Resources and Answers programs.
-
If patience is exercised and purge programs are allowed
to finish, they will eventually finish on their own and will be successful.
-
Certain purges have grown in time over the past few years
due to additional features being added which in turn have made these files
much larger thus requiring more time to run. But this should not be
considered a problem, and they should be allowed to finish even if requiring
substantially more time than in the past. This includes the P/O Purge, P/O
History Purge, Inventory Month End Processing, Inventory Transaction History
Purge and the Invoice History Purge. The reason for the increase in purging
times is due to the increase in file sizes to support new features that have
been suggested, voted upon and supported by the majority of users.
-
If you have access to the server, running Purge programs
on the server will run much faster because all of the reading and writing of
data does not have to go back and forth over the network. You will normally
see a substantial improvement (decrease in time) between running large
purges on the server versus a networked PC regardless of how fast or new the
PC is.
-
Purge programs start to work by "renaming" the live data
files they are about to purge. They they read
thru these renamed temporary work files in their entirety. For data that is
newer than the cut-off date, it is written back out into a new fresh data
file. For data that is older than the cut-off date, it is either written
into a history version of the file, or in the case of purging history,
skipped entirely which is how older data eventually gets removed from the
system entirely. At the conclusion of a successful purge, the temporary
work files are then deleted thus saving that disk space. The end result is
a clean live data file only containing new data. This process (while it
requires more time to run than a program that simply runs thru and deletes
out older records) produces a data file that is much more efficient than one
with many deleted records.
-
But due to how these work, a serious problem is caused
when a purge program is aborted in any manner as all of your live data prior
to the purge starting is now stored in a temporary work file that you really
have no access to. And the only data that will be accessible is the amount
of current data that has been processed up to the point where the purge is
aborted. So the longer the purge runs, the more data you will have. But
still regardless, if
a purge is aborted, there will be some amount of data loss. And not
only that, but if not corrected soon, you will be unable to run the same
purge again in the future without dealing with the problem. You may have
seen these messages before warning that a "previous instance of this purge
did not complete successfully and this can cause a loss of data and you
should contact Data Resources" or a similar warning message.
-
So the point being is that the purge programs are being
used by many users every month and year and if allowed to finish, will
finish successfully. History proves this point. The amount
of time will very greatly
depending on the exact purge you are running and your volume of data and the
speed of your server, network, and PC. So just please be patient and let
them finish and you will save yourself the grief of losing data and being
down while it is recovered. And again, if you have access to the server,
remember they will always run faster on it if that is an option.