Tip of the Month for: November 2022
Ability to setup Logon and Logoff Messages in Answers
Answers 8.0 introduces the capability of being able to setup a message to be displayed to all users as they start up Answers and/or log out of Answers. A different message can optionally setup and enabled for logons and logoffs. To setup either one or both of these messages go to System Management-->Answers Software Maintenance-->User Settings-->Logon/Logoff Messages. These can be used to notify users of just about anything you want to remind them of as they start or exit their working environment in Answers on the computer. One such example would be to notify users that they should not get into any programs or certain tasks during times such as manual month-end or year-end closings.
These messages can easily be enabled and disabled with simple check-boxes. Disabled messages are still saved for possible later re-use without having to re-enter them.
Included with this new feature is the ability to "block" users from logging into Answers. This option is also easily enabled or disabled with a simple check-box in this same window and can be useful for times such as monthly closings, purging, or other system maintenance. You can also add "exceptions" to this logon block, by selecting certain users that are still allowed in during the "block" that applies to all other users. Note that the user placing the block is automatically added to the "exception" list to avoid a lock out situation where no one can login to remove the block if the user placing the block accidentally logs out of Answers. Additionally any user names with "Admin" (not case sensitive) as part of their name will never be blocked regardless of whether they are added as exceptions in this program or not. This allows multiple users to get in to perform or help with maintenance or closing task assignments without letting all users in.
Note that the logout message (if enabled) is not displayed till users until after the system checks to see if they still have other Answers related windows open, as that feature has been expanded in this release as well with a 3rd option as it now can be set to warn users about other open windows, not warn them, or to prevent them from logging out if other Answers windows are open. But once it is confirmed the user is actually clear to logoff, the logoff message will display if enabled.